Veterans’ Dependents Educational Benefits-Maine

Eligibility: Children or spouses of Maine resident veterans who were killed in action or who died from a service-connected disability; or who are totally and permanently disabled as a result of service; or who are listed as missing in action, detained or interned by a foreign gov/power. Or at the time of death, the veteran was totally and permanently disabled due to service-connected disability, but whose death was not related to the service-connected disability Children must be high school graduates and at least 16 years of age. Spouses may not be divorced or remarried (if widowed). "Child" includes a stepchild who was adopted prior to turning 18 whose parent is married to an eligible veteran for at least 5 years and remains married to the veteran during the period for which benefits are received. If the child is unable to enroll in a degree program prior to turning 22 years of age due to service in the United States Armed Forces, then the child may apply to begin this benefit until reaching 26 years of age. The benefit is available for 10 years from date of acceptance.
Scholarship Amount: Amount awarded is tuition waiver to any state of Maine-supported institution for higher learning. Qualifying dependents are eligible for tuition waiver benefits as defined in Title 37B, Chapter 7, Section 505(2) of the State of Maine Statutes.
Application Process:

Student must attend a state of Maine state-supported postsecondary school.

Student must file a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) at fafsa.gov AND submit a Veterans’ Dependents Educational Benefits Program Application. Download a detailed informational brochure and application from Maine Veterans Services.

Note: Students must maintain at least a 2.0 or “C” grade point average to continue receiving educational benefits. If a student’s grade point average falls below 2.0 or a “C,” the student has one semester to bring the grade point average up to at least a 2.0 or a “C.”

Deadline Description: Children of veterans must apply prior to their 22nd birthday. There is no deadline for spouses.
Eligibility Codes:
Enrolled in College
High School
Returning to School
Courses:
Nonspecific to course of study