...back to the Scholarship search

Maine Legislative Memorial Scholarship Fund

Eligibility: The Maine Legislature annually recognizes one student from each county who is currently pursuing or planning to pursue education at a two- or four-year degree-granting Maine college or technical school. Awards are given to Maine resident high school seniors or full- or part-time postsecondary students accepted to or enrolled in accredited Maine colleges for graduate or undergraduate degrees.

Congratulations to the 2018 Legislative Memorial Scholarship Recipients
(Recipients selected from applications submitted by April 2017 deadline)

ANDROSCOGGIN: Eric Hall of Lewiston
AROOSTOOK: Abigail Gonneville of Madawaska
CUMBERLAND: Kera Pingree of Portland
FRANKLIN: Alora Ross of Strong
HANCOCK: Kaitlyn Kinney of Surry
KENNEBEC: Tyler Quirion of Randolph
KNOX: Chase Flaherty of Tenants Harbor
LINCOLN: Stephanie Hill of Waldoboro
OXFORD: Megan Linfield of Norway
PENOBSCOT: Allen Colby of Old Town
PISCATAQUIS: Krista Dearborn of Milo
SAGADAHOC: Aaron Dustin of Bowdoin
SOMERSET: Ravin Davis of Madison
WALDO: Sierra Fonger of Brooks
WASHINGTON: Rosemary Nguyen of Harrington
YORK: Hope Saucier of Lyman

Scholarship Amount: $1,000; one per county; 16 total.

How is this Awarded: Awards are made on the basis of: Academic excellence demonstrated by the content of the applicant's transcript and GPA; the applicant's activities, including employment and contributions to community; financial need demonstrated by the applicant's Student Aid Report (SAR); two letters of recommendation and an essay of 300 words or less from the applicant explaining his or her educational goals and intentions.

Application Process:

Only complete applications will be considered. A complete application consists of:

  • Completed MLMS application
  • Essay (make sure applicant’s name appears on all pages)
  • Submission of transcripts, recommendations, and Student Aid Report (SAR)*
  • Copy of high school diploma or equivalent or expected graduation date

Download the application

*It is imperative that students submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) in time to receive the Student Aid Report (SAR) back from the federal government. The SAR with Expected Family Contribution (EFC), income information, and number of family members must be sent to FAME and postmarked by May 1, 2019.

Direct any questions concerning this scholarship to FAME by calling 800-228-3734 or by emailing Education@FAMEmaine.com. Completed applications (including all supporting documents) should be postmarked by May 1, 2019 and mailed to:

Finance Authority of Maine (FAME)
Attn: Maine Legislative Memorial Scholarship
PO Box 949
Augusta, ME 04332-0949

Scholarships may be deferred for one year if this is to the student’s financial advantage.

When Can I Apply: February 1 of the award year.

Deadline Description: May 1

Deadline Date: May 1

Eligibility Codes:
Enrolled in College
High School
Returning to School

Nonspecific to course of study