April 03, 2024

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announces availability of low-interest disaster loans for Maine businesses and residents

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are available to businesses and residents in Maine following the announcement of a Presidential disaster declaration due to severe storms and flooding that occurred on Jan. 9-13. The disaster declaration covers Cumberland, Hancock, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Waldo, Washington, and York counties in Maine, which are eligible for both Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the SBA. Small businesses and most private nonprofit organizations in the following adjacent counties are eligible to apply only for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs): Androscoggin, Aroostook, Kennebec, Oxford, Penobscot, and Somerset in Maine; Strafford, Rockingham, and Carroll in New Hampshire. 

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is May 20, 2024. The deadline to return economic injury applications is Dec. 23, 2024.

Applicants may apply online and receive additional disaster assistance information at SBA.gov/disaster. Applicants may also call SBA’s Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955 or email disastercustomerservice@sba.gov for more information on SBA disaster assistance. For people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial 7-1-1 to access telecommunications relay services.